Tuesday, August 11, 2015

ARC Review - The Escort (A Shamed Novel) by Laura Marie Altom

The Escort
A Shamed Novel
by Laura Marie Altom
Release Date: August 11, 2015


In Laura Marie Altom’s scorching new Shamed novel, perfect for fans of J. Kenner and Tracy Wolff, a broken heart pushes a rugged loner to the breaking point—until a not-so-innocent affair changes everything.

When the woman he loves marries billionaire Liam Stone, Nathan Black swears off dating and playing by the rules. He’s also tired of being broke. His new gig as a male escort isn’t exactly legal, but the cash will help him build a solid future. Then there’s Carol Moore, Liam’s personal assistant. She and Nathan always seem to get paired up at Stone family functions—and always seem to end up in bed together. She’s definitely intriguing. But how could a good girl like Carol settle down with a screw-up like Nathan?

After Carol’s dreamy boss gets hitched, crushing any chance of them getting back together, she finds herself hooking up with the bride’s best friend. Nathan is hot, adventurous, and just a little bit dangerous. But when one of their sexy games goes too far, Carol discovers how out of control Nathan’s life really is. And before long Carol is forced to choose between her safe old life and the bad boy who makes her feel like the woman she’s meant to be.

My Review:

This is the third book in the series and I highly recommend readers read this wonderful series in order to fully understand and enjoy it.  As this book is concluding the previous books, this review will have spoilers for them.  Liam and Ella are getting married while Nathan and Carol look on in sorrow, both happy that the couple are finally finding happiness together but also angry for the very same reason.  These two find themselves intrigue with each other and a relationship is formed.  Nathan wants to be able to afford to date Carol but with his grocery store job, that is never going to happen.  He thinks his dream of a future are answered when he is offered a job as a male escort but determines that his employer could be very dangerous.  Carol is surprised by her feelings for Nathan but wants to see where this relationship can go. 

Nathan and Carol have amazing chemistry and I really enjoyed how their relationship developed throughout this book.  This is a well-written romance that blends drama, humor, sexual chemistry with just the right amount of suspense that kept me captivated until the very end.  Neither Nathan nor Carol are "perfect" and I loved how the author focused on that and portrayed that in the storyline.  This is a very enjoyable story and I feels earned 4.5 stars! ~Booklover Sue

A copy was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Book 1 & 2:

No comments:

Post a Comment